mukikamu

The Armchair Traveler Club

MICHAEL PALIN

Posted by mukikamu on February 5, 2007

michael-palin.jpg High time to pay tribute to my much esteemed Mr. Palin who undoubtedly is the travel hero of our times. I am currently reading his lately published diaries from the Monty Python times and am again amazed by what an enchanting and good-natured human being he is.  He manages to fill travel documentaries with warmth naturally avoiding being commonplace and banal with a healthy sense of self irony. When most travelling showmen are directly rude and definately not funny when talking with locals, Michael Palin manages to highlight the charm and humor in his encounters with foreign cultures. I am not a singular fan I must say. He has a very community enhancing website where praise and admiration is in abundance.  His books, DVDs and audio material is available everywhere (there is quite a Palin merchandise out there), so he is certainly not a hidden gem or the great discovery of this blog, but my efforts to promote travel books would definately be incomplete without him. I can’t really make a pick from his books, the best is to start from Around the world in 80 days and work systematically through to his last appeared work Himalaya. He is currently working on a BBC  series about the “New Europe” which leaves me inpatient to see what he has to say about my homeland, Hungary. 

9484.jpgptp_front.jpgfull_o.jpg hem_front.jpg

sah_front.jpgpt_ontop_ent-lead__200×274.jpgrt1989michael.jpgnaplo.jpg

PS.: I am also trying to get my hands on a DVD where Palin interviews my other contemporary hero David Attenborough ( I admire him so much that I should have written his name fully with capital letters :-)), so stay tuned for an even more subjective praise for British entertainers soon. (My family is unanimous in believing that I am obsessed with British gentlemen and BBC documentaries. Just that you know.)

One Response to “MICHAEL PALIN”

  1. […] have always believed that Michael Palin must be one of the nicest people on Earth. He comes in second to David Attenborough in terms of […]

Leave a Reply

 
